Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk And Megan Rapinoe Of United States, Favorites To Win 2019 FIFA Best Player Awards

0 0
Read Time3 Minute, 29 Second

The nominees for the 2019 FIFA Best Awards were announced today in the categories of Men’s Player, Women’s Player, Men’s Coach, and Women’s Coach.

There are 10 nominees in each category.

Men’s Player

There are three players from Liverpool’s Champions League winning squad Virgil van Dijk, Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane along with usual suspects, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The other five players nominated are Harry Kane (Spurs), Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappe (PSG) and the Dutch duo of Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona) and Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus).

Notable but not surprising omissions from the shortlist are last year’s winner Luka Modric (Real Madrid) and Neymar (Brazil).

Personally, I can’t understand why Roberto Firmino and goalkeeper Allison (both Liverpool and Brazil) are not on the list.

Favorite: Virgil van Dijk and you can cast your vote by clicking here.

Women’s player

Favorite: Megan Rapinoe and you can cast your vote by clicking here.

Men’s coach

Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool

Pep Guardiola, Manchester City

Mauricio Pochettino, Tottenham

Djamel Belmadi, Algeria

Didier Deschamps, France

Marcelo Gallardo, River Plate

Ricardo Gareca, Peru

Fernando Santos, Portugal

Erik Ten Hag, Ajax

Tite, Brazil

Favorite: Pep Guardiola and you can cast your vote by clicking here.

Women’s coach

*Paul Riley is the English-born head coach of North Carolina Courage in the National Women’s Soccer League. 

Favorite: Jill Ellis and you can cast your vote by clicking here.

The winners will be announced…..

We will find out the winners in all 11 categories on September 23. The awards ceremony will be held in Milan’s historic Teatro alla Scala after London hosted last year.

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper*
  • FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11
  • FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11*
  • The FIFA Puskás Award
  • The FIFA Fair Play Award
  • The FIFA Fan Award

FIFA Best voting

The Awards reward the best in each category, regardless of championship or nationality, for their respective achievements during the period from 16 July 2018 to 19 July 2019 inclusive for the men’s awards and from 25 May 2018 to 7 July 2019 inclusive for the women’s awards.

For the Men’s and Women’s player and coach awards, fans voting accounts for 25% of the ballot with three other tranches of 25% distributed equally between national coaches, national team captains, and selected journalists.

Voting for the FIFA Fan Award and the Puskás Award is limited to registered users.

As a fan, how do you vote? Follow the link here to register and you can vote now. A description of process, allocation of votes, and who can vote can be found be clicking here.

2018 Awards

The top awards in 2018 were – Best FIFA Men’s Player, Luka Modric; Women’s Player, Marta; Men’s Coach, Didier Deschamps; Women’s Coach Reynold Pedros; Men’s Goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois.  

The The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, and FIFA FIFPro Women’s World11 are new awards and were not awarded in 2018.

Not the Ballon d’Or

The Ballon d’Or was instituted in 1956 to recognize Europe’s best player. In 1995 the net was cast wider to include any player representing a European club and in 2007 the eligibility was expanded worldwide.

FIFA got into the Player of the Year award business in 1991. Between 2010 and 2015 the FIFA and Ballon d’Or merged into one award but the two went their separate ways for 2016 and on.