Mandatory evacuations ordered for coastal South Carolina

0 0
Read Time48 Second

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WSPA) – Governor Henry McMaster announced Sunday evening that areas of coastal South Carolina will be under a mandatory evacuation beginning noon Monday as coastal states braced for Hurricane Dorian.

The evacuations are for the following zones/counties:

  • Jasper County – Zone A
  • Beaufort County – All
  • Colleton County – Zone A, B
  • Charleston County – All
  • Berkeley County – Zone B, G
  • Dorchester County – Zone D
  • Georgetown County – Zone A
  • Horry County – Zone A
  • Click here for more information on evacuation zones.

Lane reversals on US-278 and Interstate 26 will begin at noon Monday to allow people to evacuate.

I-26 will have all lanes westbound between Charleston and Columbia.

State government offices and schools in Jasper, Beaufort, Colleton, Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester, Georgetown, and Horry counties will be closed beginning Tuesday.

Decisions on school and government office closings in the Midlands will be made when and if necessary, McMaster said.

As of early Monday, Dorian remained a category 5 hurricane.